City of KnoxvilleContact Us
I Want To...
Apply for City Grant »
Find a City Dept »
Pay Traffic Ticket »
Read the Budget »
Pre-Order Your Rain Barrel at a Discounted Price »
Renovated Fort Kid on the Way »
White House Advisers Visit Knoxville, Focus on Climate Preparedness and Resilience »
Dawn Distler Named Knoxville Director of Transit »
Fitch Affirms Knoxville's AAA Rating for Bonds »
Downtown Recycling Center Relocating to Willow Avenue »
New Downtown Signs to Help Navigation, Reduce Visual Clutter »
Mobile Food Vendor Pilot Program Details Announced »
Civil Rights Act Anniversary »
Concerts on Market Square Start May 1 »
Cumberland Connection Blog »
Engineering Department Project Blog »
Like the City on Facebook® »
Follow the City on Twitter »
View Press Releases »
Public Meetings

04/16 - John T. O'Connor Senior Center Advisory Board
04/16 - Knox County Air Pollution Control Board
04/16 - Metropolitan Knoxville Airport Authority Board
04/16 - Downtown Design Review Board
04/17 - Local Emergency Planning Committee
04/17 - Business Advisory Council
04/17 - Historic Zoning Commission
04/17 - Knoxville Utilities Board
04/17 - Board of Zoning Appeals
04/17 - PARC
04/18 - Building Board of Adjustments and Appeals
04/21 - Knoxville Zoological Gardens
04/24 - Knoxville's Community Development Corporation
04/24 - KAT Community Advisory Committee
04/24 - Knoxville Transportation Authority
04/24 - Better Building Board
04/25 - Public Officer Hearings
04/28 - Central Business Improvement District

View Complete List & Details »
Click Here for Printer Friendly Version
Mike Edwards, President
17 Market Square, #201
Knoxville, TN 37902
Fax: 865-546-6170

The Development Corporation's objectives include assisting companies in assembling sites, developing buildings, facilitating permitting, assessing various infrastructure needs, and reviewing possible incentives that might be available for projects.The Development Corporation works closely with the Knoxville Area Chamber Partnership, The University of Tennessee, the State of Tennessee, permitting and regulatory organizations, utility providers, and others to develop the partnerships that are needed to make projects successful in Knox County.
Appointment of Directors
The Development Corporation is managed by 11 directors. Five are designated by the position they hold - Knox County Mayor, City of Knoxville Mayor, Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners, Chairman of the Finance Committee of the County Board of Commissioners, and Chairman of the Economic Development Committee of the Board of County Commissioners. Five are Knox County citizens or residents and one is a City of Knoxville citizen or resident.

No director may serve more than 10 consecutive years. The Knox County appointees serve five-year terms and the City appointees serve four-year terms. Terms begin in August.
Meetings Schedule
The Development Corporation meets every other month beginning with February on the second Thursday at 7:30 a.m. at the Knoxville Area Chamber offices.
Gwendolyn Brown
Term Expires: 09/01/2013

Richard Briggs
Knox County Commissioner
2235 Breakwater Drive
Knoxville, TN 37922
Home: 865-966-5125
Office: 865-632-5900
Term: 09/01/2010 - 09/01/2016
(Term is in relation to Office)

Mayor Tim Burchett
Knox County Mayor
400 W. Main Avenue, Room 615
Knoxville, TN 37902
Term: 09/01/2010 - 08/05/2014
(Term is in relation to Office)

Mike Edwards
17 Market Square, #201
Knoxville, TN 37902
Fax: 865-546-6170
Term Expires: 08/31/2017

Mayor Ralph McGill
Town of Farragut Mayor
11408 Municipal Center Dr.
Farragut, TNĀ  37934
Term: 04/23/2009 - 11/01/2014
(Term is in relation to Office)

Jim Nichols, Secretary/Treasurer
117 Center Park Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37922
Term Expires: 09/01/2015

Tony Norman
Knox County Commissioner, Chair
3520 Peachwood Road
Knoxville, TN 37921
Home: 865-524-4301
Office: 865-215-2534
Term: 09/01/2010 - 09/01/2014
(Term is in relation to Office)

Roger Osborne, Chair

Executive Vice President
Caris Healthcare
9041 Executive Park Drive
Suite 275
Knoxville, TN 37923
Term Expires: 08/31/2017

Mayor Madeline Rogero
City of Knoxville Mayor
P.O. Box 1631
Knoxville, TN 37901
Term: 12/17/2011 - 12/07/2015
(Term is in relation to Office)

R. Larry Smith
Knox County Commissioner, Vice Chair
7119 Afton Drive, Ste. 201
Knoxville, TN 37918
Cell: 865-679-4106
Term: 09/01/2010 - 09/01/2014
(Term is in relation to Office)

Anthony (Tony) L. Spezia
Covenant Health, President & CEO
100 Fort Sanders West Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37922
Term Expires: 09/01/2016

Martha S. "Missy" Wallen, Vice Chair
BB&T Bank
900 S. Gay St, Suite 2400
Knoxville, TN 37902
Term Expires: 09/01/2014

Add to Favorites
Adobe PDF Reader
Email Page
Font Smaller
Font Normal
Font Larger
Get Directions
Make Home Page
Print Page
Search A to Z List
Site Map
Traduzca en Español
Translate to More Languages
Dial 3-1-1 For City Services
311. One Number. One Call.
Click Here for Brush Pickup Schedule
City Government
Mayor's Office »
City Council »
City Departments »
Boards & Commissions »
Public Meetings »