HOMECONTACTCITY HALLCITY EMPLOYMENTONLINE SERVICEBUSINESSRESIDENTSVISITORS
City of KnoxvilleContact Us
I Want To...
Apply for City Grant »
Find a City Dept »
Pay Traffic Ticket »
Read the Budget »
News
Local Hazard Mitigation Plan Gets Annual Update »
KAT Proposes Demonstration Route for Outdoor Activities »
Multiple Drug and Felony Arrests Earns Unit Special Recognition »
Work Begins on Cross Park Drive Improvements »
New Tax Revenue to Allow Completion of Several Projects »
Downtown Circulation and Mobility Plan »
Mobile Food Vendor Program »
Civil Rights Act Anniversary »
Cumberland Connection Blog »
Engineering Department Project Blog »
Like the City on Facebook® »
Follow the City on Twitter »
View Press Releases »
Public Meetings
View Complete List & Details »
Click Here for Printer Friendly Version
Archive Material - Data Not CurrentDOWNTOWN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (DAC)
Downtown Summit
DAC Meeting #3 Minutes, 01/19/05 [PDF]
DAC Meeting #2 Minutes, 12/08/04 [PDF]
DAC Meeting #1 Minutes, 11/17/04 [PDF]
DAC Priority Projects List [PDF]
DAC Improvement Strategy Outline [PDF]
RECENTLY ADDED ITEMS:
View Downtown Improvement Strategy Report [PDF]
View Public Comments on Report
03/22/05 - City Seeks Public Comment on Downtown Report
The Downtown Advisory Committee aids the Mayor in creating strategies for continuous improvements to the heart of the city.

The committee capitalizes on the recommendations of urban planners Crandall Arambula, the firm retained by Nine Counties One Vision to create a design framework for downtown.

The committee recommends to the Mayor strategies that prioritize critical projects needed to spur continued private investment, provides a realistic execution plan with available resources in mind, and promotes downtown's role as the heart of the city, with diverse activities and events.

Downtown SummitThe committee also addresses priorities identified by participants in the recent Downtown Summit - support for sustainable design, development incentives, and removing roadblocks to development.

The committee is representative of downtown stakeholders and design professionals and will be served by technical staff of government and non-profit organizations with expertise in various disciplines related to downtown.

Mayor Haslam will seek the public's input on the draft plan before finalizing the document and presenting it to City Council this spring.
Appointment of Committee Members
Committee members are appointed by Mayor Bill Haslam.
COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chairman Dave Hill
City of Knoxville Chief Operating Officer
City-County Bldg., Suite 691
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-3764
dhill@cityofknoxville.org

Mike Arms
Chief of Staff, Knox County
Knox County
City-County Bldg.
Suite 615
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-4745
mike.arms@knoxcounty.org

Nicholas Arning

Chairman, Historic Zoning Commission
612 S. Gay St., Suite 100
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-637-1403
nicholasarning@birch.net

Katie Bell
Community Relations Manager, TVA
400 W. Summit Hill Dr., ET 6A-K
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-632-3756
kpbell@tva.com

Trey Benefield
Metropolitan Planning Commissioner and Architect, Benefield-Richters Co.
516 Union Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-693-0095
tbenefield@benefieldrichters.com

Don Bosch
Principal, The Bosch Law Firm
712 S. Gay St.
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-637-2142
dbosch@boschlawfirm.com

Gwen Brown
Vice President, Barge Waggoner Sumner & Cannon
800 South Gay St.
First Tennessee Plaza, Suite 2400
Knoxville, TN 37929
865-637-2810
gwbrown@bwsc.net

Mark Brown
Vice Mayor, City of Knoxville
Campbell & Dawson
100 West Summit Hill Dr.
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-525-7113
browncity6thdist@aol.com

Leigh Burch
Owner, Terminus Real Estate
706 Walnut St., Suite 404
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-673-6300
Lab3rd@bellsouth.net

Linda Davidson
Vice Chancellor & Associate VP for Dev., University of Tennessee-Knoxville
600 Andy Holt Tower
Knoxville, TN 37996
865-974-2115
ldavidson@tennessee.edu

Mike Edwards
CEO, Knoxville Area Chamber Partnership
17 Market Square, Suite 201
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-246-2686
medwards@kacp.com

Pam Fansler
President, First Tennessee Bank-Knoxville
800 S. Gay St.Knoxville, TN 37929
865-971-2723
ppfansler@ftb.com

Phil French
Business Manager, Gentry Tipton, Kizer & McLemore
Riverview Tower, Suite 2300900 S. Gay St.Knoxville, TN 37902
865-525-5300
pjf@tennlaw.com

Joe Petre
CBID Chair
Lawler-Wood, LLC
1600 Riverview Tower
900 Gay St Knoxville, TN 37902-1810
865-549-7473
jpetre@lawlerwood.com

Laurens Tullock
President, Cornerstone Foundation
1704 Riverview Tower
900 S. Gay St.
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-637-1912
ltullock@cornerstoneofknoxville.com

Mahasti Vafaie
Owner, The Tomato Head
12 Market Square
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-637-4067
mahasti@thetomatohead.com
TECHNICAL SUPPORT COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chairman Bill Lyons
City of Knoxville Senior Director for Economic Development
400 Main Street Suite 655
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2029
wlyons@cityofknoxville.org

Ann Bennett
Metropolitan Planning Commission
400 Main Street Suite 403
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2500
ann.bennett@knoxmpc.org

David Brace
City of Knoxville
400 Main Street Suite 467
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2673
dbrace@cityofknoxville.org

Mike Carberry
Metropolitan Planning Commission
400 Main Street Suite 403
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2500
mike.carberry@knoxmpc.org

Marleen Davis

College of Architecture and Design
University of TN
Knoxville, TN 37996-2400
865-382-3811
mkdavis@utk.edu

Renee Kesler
City of Knoxville Director for
Community Development
400 Main St Suite 532
Knoxville, TN 37902
rkesler@cityofknoxville.org

Cynthia Finch
Knox County
400 Main Street Suite 615
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-4753
cynthia.finch@knoxcounty.org

Lynne Fugate
Nine Counties, One Vision
920 Volunteer Landing Lane
Suite 200
Knoxville, TN 37915
865-525-4949
lynne.fugate@ntown.com

Mark Hairr
Knoxville Area Transit
1135 Magnolia Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37917
865-215-7824
mhairr@cityofknoxville.org

Jim Harrison
The Development Corporation
17 Market Square, #201
Knoxville, TN 37902-1405
865-546-5887
jharrison@knoxdevelopment.org

Michele Hummel
Central Business Improvement District
17 Market Square #201
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-246-2654
mhummel@kacp.com

Buz Johnson
Metropolitan Planning Commission
400 Main Street Suite 403
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2500
buz.johnson@knoxmpc.org

Alvin Nance
Knoxville's Community Development Corp.
901 Broadway
Knoxville, TN 37917
865-403-1106
anance@kcdc.org

Dale Smith
Public Building Authority
400 Main St.Suite M22
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2121
dsmith@KTNPBA.ORG

Frank Sparkman
Architect
3991 Midland Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37919
frank@sparkmanarchitect.com

Kim Trent

Knox Heritage
P.O. Box 1242
Knoxville, TN 37901
865-523-8008
kimtrent@knoxheritage.org

Jill Van Beke
City of Knoxville
400 Main St. Suite 656
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2680
jvanbeke@cityofknoxville.org

Dave Watson

East Tennessee Community Design Center
1522 Highland Ave.
Knoxville, TN 37916
865-525-9945
dmwatson@korrnet.org

Bob Whetsel
City of Knoxville
400 Main St. Suite 467
Knoxville, TN 37902
865-215-2060
bwhetsel@cityofknoxville.org

Add to Favorites
Adobe PDF Reader
Email Page
Font Smaller
Font Normal
Font Larger
Get Directions
Make Home Page
Print Page
RSS/XML Feed
Search A to Z List
Site Map
Traduzca en Español
Translate to More Languages
Dial 3-1-1 For City Services
311. One Number. One Call.
Click Here for Brush Pickup Schedule
City Government
Mayor's Office »
City Council »
City Departments »
Boards & Commissions »
Public Meetings »
Promotions