City of KnoxvilleContact Us
I Want To...
Download Permits & Forms »
Find City Court Info »
Find Next Brush Pickup Date »
Report Traffic Issue »
Retrieve Impounded Vehicle »
Like the City on Facebook® »
Follow the City on Twitter »
View Press Releases »
Click Here for Printer Friendly Version
City of Knoxville, Tennessee
Madeline Rogero, Mayor

For Immediate Release
Knoxville Selected for Stormwater Permitting Program
October 9, 2012 - The City of Knoxville was recognized today at Volunteer Landing as one of five programs selected by the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation for a pilot project that aims to streamline stormwater regulation.
Mayor Rogero speaks at TDEC event
Mayor Rogero speaks at the TDEC Pilot Project recognition ceremony at Volunteer Landing
Martineau, Duncan-Massey, Rogero
TDEC Commissioner Bob Martineau, Tennessee State Senator Becky Duncan Massey, Mayor Madeline Rogero
Knoxville has been selected as a Qualifying Local Program. This means that instead of applying for separate construction stormwater permits from the City and state, developers and contractors will now be able to deal only with the City.

"This will streamline stormwater permitting and regulation, while ensuring a consistent standard for environmental protection," said Christi Branscom, the City's Senior Director of Public Works. "We're very happy to have been selected by TDEC for the pilot program. It is a great reflection of the expertise and professionalism of our engineering staff."

The single permit system is scheduled to be in place by March 1, 2013.

The other four jurisdictions designated as QLPs are Knox County, Bristol, Cookeville and Washington County.

For more information on the QLP program, see: http://tn.gov/environment/wpc/stormh2o/qlp.shtml.
For Immediate Release
Add to Favorites
Adobe PDF Reader
Email Page
Font Smaller
Font Normal
Font Larger
Get Directions
Make Home Page
Print Page
Search A to Z List
Site Map
Traduzca en Español
Translate to More Languages
Dial 3-1-1 For City Services
311. One Number. One Call.
Click Here for Brush Pickup Schedule
City Departments
Communications »
Community Development »
Community Relations »
Engineering »
Finance Dept. »
Fire Dept. »
Law Dept. »
Mayor's Office »
Parks & Recreation »
Plans Review/Inspections »
Police Dept. »
Policy & Redevelopment »
Public Service »
Special Events »
Sustainability »
List of All Depts. »
Phone List »