City of KnoxvilleContact Us
I Want To...
Download Permits & Forms »
Find City Court Info »
Find Next Brush Pickup Date »
Report Traffic Issue »
Retrieve Impounded Vehicle »
Like the City on Facebook® »
Follow the City on Twitter »
View Press Releases »
Click Here for Printer Friendly Version
City of Knoxville, Tennessee
Madeline Rogero, Mayor

For Immediate Release
Oversight committee tapped for South Waterfront project
RFP for South Waterfront [PDF] (320 KB)
Addendum #1 for RFP [PDF] (63 KB)
Feasibility Study [PDF] (3.4 MB)
Proposals Submitted
Evaluation Committee Schedule
07/29/05 - Three teams selected for South Waterfront interviews
07/19/05 - South Waterfront plan proposals opened
06/03/05 - City seeks proposals for South Knoxville waterfront master plan
04/12/05 - Opportunities exist on South Knox waterfront
August 5, 2005 - Mayor Bill Haslam announced today members of the City of Knoxville’s South Waterfront Oversight Committee, comprised of representatives of South Knoxville neighborhoods, businesses, and public agencies expected to participate in a regulatory or technical capacity.

The City of Knoxville is in the process of selecting a consulting team to create a South Waterfront Vision and Action Plan that will set the framework for future development and investment in the area. The plan requires a combination of planning, urban design, and technical services to develop an improvement strategy for the south side of Fort Loudoun Lake between James White Parkway and the Norfolk Southern Railroad, across from downtown and the UT campus.

The Oversight Committee is an advisory, non-voting committee that will serve as a sounding board for the consultants as the project unfolds, identifying issues in need of attention, providing review comments, technical assistance and information.

Three consultant teams, Bullock, Smith & Partners, Inc., EDAW, Inc. and Hargreaves Associates, have been selected for interviews, to be conducted August 17 and 18.

Previously announced members of the Evaluation Committee -- Dave Hill, Chris Kinney, Bill Lyons and Sam Anderson, senior directors, City of Knoxville; City Councilman Joe Hultquist; Madeline Rogero, South Knoxville resident and former Knox County commissioner; and Caryn Conklin-Hawthorne, chief financial officer of Baptist Hospital -- will also serve as members of the Oversight Committee.

Other Oversight Committee members are: City Councilwoman Marilyn Roddy; Mike Arms, chief of staff for the Knox County Mayor; Knox County Commissioners Larry Clark and Paul Pinkston; Mark Donaldson, Metropolitan Planning Commission; Jeff Welch, Knoxville-Knox County Transportation Planning Organization; Carol Elmers, TVA; Cathy Elliott, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers; Pete Clausen, Gulf & Ohio Railroad; Alvin Nance, Knoxville’s Community Development Corp.; Todd Napier, Development Corp. of Knox County; Mike Patterson, KUB; Michele Hummel, Central Business Improvement District;

John Thomas and Jenny Arthur, Old Sevier Neighborhood; Martha Olson and Connie Beeler, Southside Riverfront Residents & Business Association; Ron Emery and Pat Scruggs, Chapman Highway businesses; Rachel Craig and Rob Dansereau, South Knoxville community-at-large; Mary English, Knoxville Rowing Association; and Kelly Conley and John Gumpert, South Waterfront property owners: large parcels.

For Immediate Release
Add to Favorites
Adobe PDF Reader
Email Page
Font Smaller
Font Normal
Font Larger
Get Directions
Make Home Page
Print Page
Search A to Z List
Site Map
Traduzca en Español
Translate to More Languages
Dial 3-1-1 For City Services
311. One Number. One Call.
Click Here for Brush Pickup Schedule
City Departments
Communications »
Community Development »
Community Relations »
Engineering »
Finance Dept. »
Fire Dept. »
Law Dept. »
Mayor's Office »
Parks & Recreation »
Plans Review/Inspections »
Police Dept. »
Policy & Redevelopment »
Public Service »
Special Events »
Sustainability »
List of All Depts. »
Phone List »